Next Event:   TBA - Check back soon!

Scott Holcomb Victorious at Bear Ridge Speedway
Clay Dow Crowned 2017 Champion

The Sprint Cars of New England concluded their season Saturday September 23rd at The Bear Ridge Speedway in Bradford, VT with an extra distance, 40 Lap Feature. No heats were held; instead it was time trials with Scott Holcomb setting fast time. The top 8 then drew for position for the 8 lap dash and Scott Holcomb drew the pole for the dash, which he went on to win in dominating fashion. The traditional SCoNE handicapping determined the top 14 starting positions in the feature, with the rest starting by speed behind them.

Going into the night Clay Dow held a super slim single point advantage over Will Hull with Jacob Williams just 13 points out of first and Matt Hoyt still mathematically alive in fourth setting up an exciting finish to the season.

Patrick Smith was quick at the drop of the green and bolted into the lead, holding it through a caution for a spinning Lauren Boisvert with just a handful of laps in the books. While Smith held the lead Scott Holcomb was quickly making his way through the field, after battling Smith for a lap Holcomb took the lead with 13 laps complete. Holcomb had pulled away to a comfortable lead when the yellow flew for Bill Guertin on lap 17, who stopped at the entrance of turn one, stuck on the berm with a broken front end. While the race was under yellow Will Hull rolled to a stop on the front stretch and was pushed to the pits with a fuel system problem. Hull would return to the track just before the green flag reappeared. As before Scott Holcomb annexed the lead and started to pull away from the field. Behind Holcomb there was lots of jockeying for position as Dan Douville, Clay Dow and Matt Hoyt were constantly changing positions in the battle for second. Just two laps later Will Hull headed pitside, a victim of a failed fuel pump gasket and his championship hopes gone. As the laps clicked off and Holcomb encountered lapped traffic the field started to close on him. Matt Hoyt finally cleared everyone else for second with just a handful of laps remaining and started to close on Holcomb. He did not have enough time though as when the checkers flew it was Scott Holcomb with the win, Matt Hoyt second just a couple of car lengths back and Clay Dow third. Chris Donnelly was fourth and Dan Douville completed the top five.

With his third place finish in the Feature, Clay Dow cemented the 2017 Sprint Cars of New England Championship with a total of 716 points. Jake Williams collected 693 points to finish second overall with Matt Hoyt jumping to third with 688 markers. Will Hull fell all the way to fourth with 687 points and Lacey Hanson was fifth with 655 Points.

Photos Courtesy of Alan Ward

Unofficial Results

Bear Ridge Speedway, September 23rd, 2017

  1.  Scott Holcomb
  2.  Matt Hoyt
  3.  Clay Dow
  4.  Chris Donnelly
  5.  Dan Douville
  6.  Kevin Chaffee
  7.  Luke Greenwood
  8.  Jacob Williams
  9.  Ryan Avery
  10. Lacey Hanson
  11. Patrick Smith
  12. Dennis McLeod
  13. Rick Stone
  14. Lauren Boisvert
  15. Barry LaValley
  16. Tyler Austin
  17. Will Hull
  18. Bill Guertin
  19. Christine Boesch



<< Reminder! RSVP for 2017 Banquet! Ryan Avery Wins Again at Legion Speedway >>


Powered By:

Check us out on Facebook



website designed and maintained by DJM3
© 2014 Sprint Cars of New England