Next Event:   TBA - Check back soon!

Ryan Avery Wins Again at Legion Speedway

Friday night September 8th the Sprint Cars of New England made their last appearance of the season at the Legion Speedway on CMD Logging night. It turned out to be a Features only night as an unexpected late afternoon storm drenched the track, causing a late start. When racing finally commenced the track was virtually dust free and tackier than usual. The competitors and fans also had to battle fog throughout the evening making for limited visibility at times.

When the green flag dropped on the front row of Lauren Boisvert and Christine Boesch, Boesch got the jump and shot into the lead. Tyler Austin was on the move from his sixth starting spot and blasted into second with just two laps complete and started to close the gap on Boesch. Just three laps later Austin motored by Boesch to move to the top spot. Just one lap later Ryan Avery worked his way by Boesch into second and started to reel in leader Austin. It took Avery a few laps to catch Austin then another couple to claim the lead. While the battle was on up front a little further back in the pack Matt Hoyt was hard at work headed to the front. By this time the leaders were in heavy lapped traffic and this allowed Hoyt to move to second at the two thirds mark of the event, One lap later the only caution of the evening flew, which quickly turned into a red flag for Ron Giroux, who hit the wall in turn one and ended up on his side. When racing resumed Ryan Avery pulled away to the lead with Matt Hoyt in tow. Clay Dow took advantage of the restart and moved from fifth to third. The running order stayed the same for the last eight laps of the 30 lap Feature with Ryan Avery taking his third win of the season. Second went to Matt Hoyt with Clay Dow third. Tyler Austin and Will Hull completed the top five.

With just one race remaining in the 2017 season the points' battle is razor close with Clay Dow leading Will Hull by a single point with Jake Williams only another twelve points back.

The Sprint Cars of New England will close out the season Saturday, September 23rd at the Bear Ridge Speedway.

Photos Courtesy of Alan Ward
Unofficial Results

Legion Speedway, September 8th, 2017

  1.  Ryan Avery
  2.  Matt Hoyt
  3.  Claw Dow
  4.  Tyler Austin
  5.  Will Hull
  6.  Jacob Williams
  7.  Dennis McLeod
  8.  Christine Boesch
  9.  Lauren Boisvert
  10. Lacey Hanson
  11. Jordan Fornwalt
  12. Barry LaValley
  13. Patrick Smith
  14. Ron Girioux



<< Scott Holcomb Victorious at Bear Ridge Speedway
Clay Dow Crowned 2017 Champion
Luke Greenwood Best at Bear Ridge Speedway >>


Powered By:

Check us out on Facebook



website designed and maintained by DJM3
© 2014 Sprint Cars of New England